Stop K-12 Indoctrination

Maine's Education Committee Will Vote on K-12 Code of Ethics on Thursday

Help us persuade state legislators to vote for this essential reform to halt the insidious politicization of our public school classrooms.

Having completed its “long march through the institutions," the Left has infiltrated and subverted our system of higher education to the degree that the courses and causes in our colleges and universities have become the stuff of late night comedy routines. What is less well known is that this same left has now turned its sights on our K-12 schools.

Mobilizing its assets in the teachers’ unions, teacher education and credentialing courses, and the textbook industry, education radicals are targeting children as young as kindergarten for indoctrination on subjects ranging from the “fluidity” of gender to the permanence of American racism. This effort is taking place in every state in the union. No discipline, including math and the hard sciences, is immune from the extremism of “correct thinking.”

Maine State Representative Larry Lockman has courageously taken action to stop this abuse of our K-12 classrooms. He recently introduced a bill, LD-589, to establish a code of ethics for K-12 teachers in the state of Maine. This code prohibits teachers “from engaging in political, ideological, or religious advocacy in the classroom.”

This much-needed reform is up for a vote before the Education Committee of the Maine Legislature on Thursday. We need you to take action today by calling State House Members on the Education Committee and tell them to support Legislative Document 589, the K-12 Code of Ethics.

Contact information for the education committee members follows:

Democrats on the Education Committee

Victoria P. Kornfield Victoria.Kornfield@legislature.maine.gov State House Message Phone: (800) 423-2900

Michael Brennan Michael.Brennan@legislature.maine.gov State House Message Phone: (800) 423-2900

Richard Farnsworth Richard.Farnsworth@legislature.maine.gov State House Message Phone: (800) 423-2900

David McCrea David.McCrea@legislature.maine.gov State House Message Phone: (800) 423-2900

Janice Dodge Jan.Dodge@legislature.maine.gov State House Message Phone: (800) 423-2900

Henry Ingwersen Henry.Ingwersen@legislature.maine.gov State House Message Phone: (800) 423-2900

Republicans on the Education Committee

Heidi Sampson Heidi.Sampson@legislature.maine.gov State House Message Phone: (207) 287-1400

Gary Drinkwater Gary.Drinkwater@legislature.maine.gov State House Message Phone: (207) 287-1400

Justin Fecteau Justin.Fecteau@legislature.maine.gov State House Message Phone: (207) 287-1400

Shelley Rudnicki Shelley.Rudnicki@legislature.maine.gov State House Message Phone: (207) 287-1400